Yoda, Tears & Time Travel


Role reversal is always interesting but when it’s an AD/K reversal it seems that the K demands more than one tear. It was time for hugs and more than one tissue.

Unheard of.

Yet again the brief respite was all too brief and the improvement turned out to be illusory. It’s hospital time again. At least this time we were able to use the respite to move her across country and she’s now only 15 minutes away. Two and a half hours each way had taken its toll.

In theory it was simply a visit to reconnect with the old Consultant once more to ensure continuity of care. They took one look and it was back to A&E. Yet another episode of Emergency Ward 10, for those who are old enough to remember.

On the other hand, I’ve made a discovery. We’ve been talking at cross purposes for a little while and it’s been really frustrating. I should know better and ought to have been able to think my way past it. In itself that was a signal. If I couldn’t think past it, it was more than likely an emotional barrier.

I even found myself recognising the limiting belief (well you’d hope so, I just got my Master Practitioner qualification, so in theory I have some skill in this arena).

I discovered myself thinking that now I had uncovered the belief, I possessed sufficient skill to try to find the way past it.

That got me going. Try.

Yoda turned up again, as he does when someone says Try.

Try not.

Do. Or Do Not.

There is no Try.

So armed with Jedi wisdom, I let the reframe in.

I have sufficient skill to find the way past it.

I haven’t yet worked out the how but given that I’m good at Age Progression and mental time-travel I know that when the time comes, as come it surely will, I’ll be standing exactly where I need to be.

I'm listening... © Tony Burkinshaw 2012

I’m listening…
© Tony Burkinshaw 2012

Conversation is good for the soul. Why not start one here? Go on...

