Confused? Perhaps not.


How do you know that you know what you know is something that you know and yet you can be just as certain that you know that you know what you don’t know is, well, something that you don’t?

There must be something about the essence of recall that enables you to recognise that it is either certain or uncertain, otherwise you’d have to cross check every memory every time you recalled it in order to determine whether it is something you’ve recalled correctly or not.

As it turns out, it has a lot to do with how you decide to store information in the first place so that the qualities of know and don’t know, certain and uncertain, are encoded into the memory itself.

Once you recognise this and learn how you personally encode known information for quick and easy recall, you can encode brand new information in the same manner as everything else you absolutely know.

Done properly, your brain can’t tell the difference and stores this new knowledge in the same manner as all other information that you already know that you know and therefore can easily recall.

Fascinating.

I’m learning how to spread the word.

This just might turn out to have been one of the most useful skills I learned for my hybridised career.

Want to know more?

http://www.cognitivehypnotherapy.org

Click here for my therapy website

Memory

Up or down? Are you sure?
© Tony Burkinshaw 2013

15 thoughts on “Confused? Perhaps not.

    • I think this may well provide the link between Cognitive Hypnotherapy and my alter ego role as Chartered Financial Planner. There are many people who have never learned how to learn…

      • That would be very logical. Sometimes people believe they knew and realized they haven’t. At the same time, people refused to learn because they’ve always have the idea they can’t learn. And yes, I agree some just never learned to learn…

      • Most of the time, it’s because they were never actually taught how to learn. Often the education system assumes that children will automatically pick up how to learn.
        Usually what happens is that children learn by sitting still and reading or making notes because that’s what they had to do in class and exams.
        Often that proves to be exactly their most difficult way of learning.

  1. That’s one of the major reasons of the lack there of. I also think that another reason perhaps is the lack of support from education board/system as well as the proper motivation from family and significant people in one’s life.

  2. Your blog has raised many questions in my mind. I feel I know quite a bit about memory though my own research (are you familiar with False Memory Syndrome?). I have memory problems caused by MS and find myself doubting my memories are accurate. For example I don’t remember seeing a movie, yet other people tell me we saw the movie together. I have absolutely no memory of it. I find I no longer trust my own memories against those around me. How can I be sure my memory of not seeing the movie is true? How do I know what I know is true or real? How do you trust the memory’s accuracy?

Conversation is good for the soul. Why not start one here? Go on...